top of page

Meet Mlambe: Magnus Karnehm

Our new 'Meet Mlambe' series gives you a glimpse into the Mlambe Project and the hard-working and generous people behind it!

We'll be profiling all our volunteers over the coming months, so keep checking our blog for more interesting insights!

What is your name and involvement with the Mlambe Project?

I'm Magnus and I oversee our student programme, a lighthouse project in which we enable the first Malawian students to study for online degrees.

How long have you been working with the Mlambe Project?

It all started when I went out to Malawi as a volunteer in 2015.

What is your greatest achievement so far?

The most rewarding moment was seeing the faces of the Malawian school kids when they had their first bowl of porridge at school, which was part of the food @ school programme which I helped establish. It doubled attendance rates which meant they had better focus in the classroom.

Favourite thing about being a part of the project so far?

Being part of this super lean organisation run by volunteers around the world is incredibly inspiring - it's like being part of a big family!

If someone is going to visit Malawi, what's the one thing you'd tell them?

Engage with the locals - Malawians are among the warmest people in the world!

Tell us something that would surprise people to know about you.

I was quite broke myself when I was in Malawi, so I could really feel with everybody else! At the same time, living like the locals was one of the most rewarding experiences I've had in my life.

What would you say to someone who is considering donating to the charity?

Your donation can mean the world to a person in Malawi.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • YouTube Black Round
  • LinkedIn Black Round
bottom of page